English-Language Requirements for Graduate School Admission

English language requirements for graduate students can be tricky, but that means more ways to show your proficiency without testing. Applicants from non-English speaking countries, including internationally educated American students, must demonstrate proficiency in English. FIU only accepts test scores sent directly from the testing agency as official.

  • TOEFL iBT/PBT 80/550
  • IELTS 6.5
  • ENC 1101 and ENC 1102 with a B or better taken at a regionally accredited institution in the U.S. or as previously articulated by Transfer and Transition Services (Coming Soon)
  • FIU’s English Language Institute Level Six: Successful completion with passing grades for all content areas
  • Applicants from institutions with regional accreditation or other English speaking countries who hold an undergraduate or graduate degree.

The English Language Institute at FIU offers the PBT TOEFL® which is accepted university wide.

Graduate programs can use the Duolingo English Test for the entering graduate classes through Fall 2022.
You can find more information about how to register for the exam here: Duolingo English Test

FIU Minimum Duolingo English Test Score: 105

The Duolingo English Test is an online English proficiency test that can be taken online, on-demand, in under an hour for only $49. The test is taken via a computer with a camera and includes a proficiency score, video interview, and writing sample which are shared with FIU when you send your results. Certified results are available within 48 hours of the test session.

*This exam does not replace the SAT, ACT, GRE, or GMAT. The primary use is to demonstrate English Language proficiency.

English Proficiency Exempt Countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • Dominica
  • Eritrea
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia, Federated States
  • Montserrat
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos
  • Uganda
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vanuatu
  • Virgin Islands (British)
  • Virgin Islands (U.S.)
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe